When the bloc opens to international visitors on July 1

, Americans will not be able to travel to EU countries.


For the second time this month, the European Union on Thursday extended the travel ban on Americans as COVID-19 infections continued in the United States.

On 1 July, the EU began lifting travel restrictions outside the bloc and welcomed visitors from 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea and Australia. The US has abandoned the original list, and on July 16, the EU extended a ban on Americans visiting the bloc.

The European Council’s announcement came after EU officials conducted their bi-weekly review of travel restrictions, coronavirus trends and non-proliferation measures in each country to determine whether to add or reduce the list of authorized passengers.

Key measurement: A pandemic outbreak in a country must be as limited – or better – as in the EU.

The United States had more than 4.4 million cases of COVID-19 on Thursday and more than 151,000 deaths, according to Johns Hopkins University, more than any other state.

European countries have made significant progress in reducing the content of coronavirus caused by COVID-19. According to EU data, the bloc – which includes the European Economic Area (EU countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and the United Kingdom – reported more than 1.7 million cases on Thursday.

Three U.S. states – California, Florida and New York – have more than 400,000 cases, while a fourth, Texas, has nearly as many. According to the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control, no other EU country has more than 300,000 cases.

Here are ten countries where citizens are allowed to visit the EU. The list did not change two weeks ago, when Montenegro and Serbia were removed:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China is subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Thursday does not apply to the trip to Britain, which left the EU in January.

The US State Department has been recommending Americans against international travel since March.


Show thumbnails

Show captions

Last imageNext image

Read or share this story: /